Threads, success!

Here comes Panini again.  It’s Threads this time.  This is a product I’m usually not a big fan of, but I had to do my duty and pick up a few packs.

First a few interesting things to mention before getting into my packs.  First, all the rookie cards are autos in this set and I’m reading that they are on-card autos. Nice one Panini, you are continuing to move in the right direction.  Second, the rookies are all printed on “wood card stock,” I don’t what that is exactly but hopefully it’s not made from this:

Get it? Woodstock

Third, you get three autos and one memorabilia card per box.  Maybe a name change is in order: Panini Signature Edition?  Finally, following in the footsteps of the prior Threads issue, there are cards shaped like jerseys, which are a cool little touch.  They come in auto and non-auto versions. On to the packs. I will start off by saying that this is the best Panini base design of the year.  The cards have fantastic photography.  The pictures are big and unaltered.  The bottom border is made from copper foil, which is used subtly and adds a nice flourish.  The Panini logo is minimal and not intrusive.  The only complaint I have is the left border, which has a splotchy, faux wall design.  This is by far the nicest, most classic design of the year for Panini.

I absolutely love that angle with the arena as a backdrop. Need more of that.

While I like the idea of doing an all autograph rookie set, I did miss pulling rookies.  My two packs, not suprisingly, did not have any rookie autos, so all I got were a bunch of veteran cards and one insert (more on that in a second).  While making the rookie cards chase cards produces added value and excitement when you pull them, it also makes this a hard product to want to buy individual packs of.  Odds are that most packs from your local retail outlet will not have a rookie, so buying a box seems to be the only reasonable way to excited about opening the product.  With that said, I probably will buy a box of Threads; as I said it has the best base design this season, on-card rookie autos, multiple hits per box, and it costs less than $100 on eBay. Similar to the rookies, the inserts are tougher pulls in this product.  Threads shys away from the one insert per pack standard.  Out of my two packs I pulled only one insert: a Team Threads Jeff Teague card.  This is one of those forementioned jersey shaped cards that are returning.  While I’m not a fan of die cuts I do like these because they are not just a random shape, they actually represent something.  I also like basketball jerseys in general, especially classic designs like old Blazers jerseys or even the new Nets jerseys.

Overall, I think this is a solid product.  The base design is pleasing, on-card autos is a plus (but should be standard), four hits per box is a good thing, and there will be a lot of value on the secondary market because of all the chase cards.  On the down side the base checklist is all vets and some of the inserts reek of Panini trash (Floor Generals, High Flyers, etc.) This is probably a box buy for me and I’ll be generous and give it a 4/5 (subject to change after I see all there is to see).

See checklist here.

    

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Left Field Cards

Letterpress baseball cards, postcard-size.

Bad Wax

Musings of a Card Collector

realhousewivesrealprofessor

Analyzing reality TV, and the world, at the same time

