The Best: Awww Yeah

I finally got my Derrick Williams autograph.  Awww yeah.

Derrick Williams

2012-13 Panini Prestige Derrick Williams Autograph

I’ve been after his Hoops auto since it released, but the cards were selling for a bit more than I was comfortable paying.  In the meantime, Prestige released and with it, the above pictured card.  I ended up winning this card for less than any of the Hoops autos that I bid on, which was a bit suprising but made me quite happy.  It arrived yesterday and I was like a kid at Christmas.

The card features a decent photo on a shiny background on the top 2/3 of the card. The bottom 1/3 is white with Prestigious Picks in gold lettering and the autograph itself.  I’ll be honest the design is nothing special, my dislike for shiny cards is well-known and the white space is a little too much.  Furthermore, the auto is a sticker drop, which I usually loathe.  But this card is different.  This is the best sticker drop I’ve ever seen.  First, the sticker is not too obvious, it has a very faint hologram on it but otherwise is almost completely clear.  Second, and most importantly, there is a shadowed border around the sticker, giving it the effect of a cut auto bordered by the card.  I think all manufacturers need to adopt this for their sticker autos, it helps hide the fact that it is a sticker and is visually pleasing.  Though I’m not a Panini fan, I will give credit where credit is due and admit that Panini has at least figured out how to make sticker autos more palatable. However, Panini could just do more on-card autos and avoid this all together.  Que sera sera, I guess.

I should admit that I would have loved this card no matter what it loooked like.  It’s one of Derrick Williams first autographs, and it is a fine autograph at that.  I’ve been waiting for his autos to drop since he was drafted, and I’ve had to wait too long because of the lockout.  Williams is one of my top five all-time favorite Arizona basketball players.  His dunks in college, and the pros, were ridiculous and his skills around the hoop, finishing and drawing fouls, were without compare.  He is a beast on offense when he is given an opportunity, we have to remember that led the nation in free throw attempts in his final year at Arizona, evidencing his ability to draw contact, and was one of the leaders in true shooting percentage, which includes free throws and adjusts for the type of shot taken.   I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I hope Minnesota either gives him substantial minutes or trades him.  He deserves a chance on the big stage, he has the athleticism and skills to be a star.

I can legitimately say that I have not been as excited for an Arizona player in the NBA since Damon Stoudamire.  I also have not been as excited for any Arizona players cards since Damon Stoudamire.  Hopefully I can get a few more D-Will autos to go with my Stoudamire collection.  Maybe on-card next time.  You hear me, Panini?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Best: Awww Yeah

  1. Anthony Billups says:

    I just pulled a Derrick Williams rookie substantial auto with game jersey. Numbered to 25. Any interest? Email me

Leave a Reply

Left Field Cards

Letterpress baseball cards, postcard-size.

Bad Wax

Musings of a Card Collector

realhousewivesrealprofessor

Analyzing reality TV, and the world, at the same time

